Possessives: pronouns

1. A: Whose book is this? B: I don’t know. It isn’t my book. = A: Whose book is this? B: I don’t know. It isn’t mine.
2. This is your toothbrush and this is her toothbrush. = This is your toothbrush and this is hers.
3. The blue car is George’s and the silver car is their car. = The blue car is George’s and the silver car is theirs.
4. I found this pen on the floor. Is it your pen? = I found this pen on the floor. Is it yours?
5. We can’t invite people to Lee’s flat! It’s not our flat. = We can’t invite people to Lee’s flat! It’s not ours.
6. My dessert was the ice cream and your dessert was the cake. = My dessert was the ice cream and yours was the cake.
7. Her university was in Leicester and his university was in Coventry. = Her university was in Leicester and his was in Coventry.
8. Shall we watch the match here or do you want to come to our house? = Shall we watch the match here or do you want to come to ours?

Grammar reference: Possessives: pronouns 2

1. This is Rachel. She’s one of my colleagues. = This is Rachel. She’s a colleague of mine.
2. That’s Mauro. He’s one of our friends. = That’s Mauro. He’s a friend of ours.
3. I’m Alex. I’m one of your students. = I’m Alex. I’m a student of yours.
4. Who’s that lady next to Howard ? Is she one of his aunts? = Who’s that lady next to Howard? Is she an aunt of his? 5. How do you know Karolina? Are you one of her classmates? = How do you know Karolina? Are you a classmate of hers?
6. You look like Ben and Matthew. Are you one of their relatives? = You look like Ben and Matthew. Are you a relative of theirs?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *