Examination test Exercise 1. Present Simple or Present Continuous?

 

1) (you/come) tonigh

Do you come tonight

2) (he/eat) rice every day?

Does he eat

3) I (work) at the moment.

I do work

4) (he/come) to London often?

Does he come

5) He (play) tennis now.

He is  playing tennis now

6) (you/come) to the cinema later?

Are you coming

7) They (not/come) to the party tomorrow.

They are not coming

8) He (not/play) golf now.

He isn’t playing

9) (you/play) tennis this Sunday?

Are you playing

10) They (go) to a restaurant every Saturday.

They go

11) She (not/go) to the cinema very often.

She doesn’t go

12) You usually (arrive) late.

You  usually  arrive late.

Exercise 2. Past Simple or Past Continuous?

1) I (sit) in a cafe when you (call) .

I was siting  in a cafe when you called.

2) When you (arrive) at the party, who (be) there?

When you   was arriving at the party who was there?

3) Susie (watch) a film when she (hear) the noise.

Susie was watching  a film when she hear the noise

4) Yesterday I (go) to the library, next I (have) a swim, later I(meet) Julie for coffee

I went, i had,met

5) We (play) tennis when John (hurt) his ankle.

We were playing ,hurt

6) What (they/do) at 10pm last night – it was really noisy?

What  they were doing

7) He (take) a shower when the telephone (ring).

Was taking ,rang

8) He (be) in the shower when the telephone (ring).

Was rang

9) When I (walk) into the room, everyone (work).

I walked worked

Exercise 3. Fill in the correct form of the words in brackets

(comparative or superlative).

1. My house is (big) than yours.

Biggest

2. This flower is (beautiful) than that one.

Beautifuller

3. This is the (most interesting) book I have ever read.

Interesting

4. Non-smokers usually live (long) than smokers.

Longer

5. Which animal is the (dangerous) animal in the world?

The most dangerous

6. A holiday by the sea is (good) than a holiday in the mountains.

Better

7. It is strange but often a coke is (expensive) than a beer.

More expensive

8. Who is the (rich) woman on earth?

Richest

9. The weather this summer is even (bad) than last summer.

Worse

10. He was the (clever) thief of all.

Most clever

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *